Health, Thyroid Cancer, Thyroids

SEPTEMBER – Thyroid Cancer Awareness Month

I’m a little late. A whole month to be exact. And what a month to be late for! September is Thyroid Cancer Awareness month. I’ve been doing my very best to spread as much information, support, and mindfulness pertaining to all that effects current fighters, like myself, cancer free survivors, and everyone that helps support us all as we endure this quite terrifying and unpredictable experience.

I started the campaign below last year after my first surgery and RAI treatment. As a designer, I wanted to create something eye catching yet blunt to get people interested and get them aware in another way outside a butterfly, that Thyroid Cancer is a major life changing event and is on the rise. My goal is to continue to move this WhatThyroid? campaign forward with a website and some collateral in the up-coming year to help support individuals in financial need, that get diagnosed with Thyroid Cancer.

It’s been very impressive to find how many people, including myself before diagnosis, that do not embrace the slightest bit of knowledge about what a thyroid is or what it does for our bodies. Though in most cases, Thyroid Cancer is treatable, there are many ups and downs, mentally and physically that go along with this scandalous disease. More people need to start taking an annual neck check seriously. I recall back to how naive I was the first time they even discovered a nodule in my neck. I waited FIVE years to even do anything about it because I was scared. It set me up for a more severe circumstance later in my life.

When officially diagnosed with Thyroid Cancer at the top of 2014 – Completing numerous biopsies, x-rays, scans, a totally thyroidectomy, a double dose of RAI, and uncountable blood work session since, at the young age of 30, complications have now arose. I felt the need to take a minute and start the month of October with a huge shout out to everyone that has or is fighting this same battle – You are not alone! I urge anyone and everyone to please not take something that you might think of as a simple organ or check up, for granted. CHECK YOUR NECK!

More from me on my developments soon. Positive vibes are greatly needed. xo

tumblr_nbyj6aaQ9k1tcyic1o1_1280

Standard

Leave a comment